Posted on: 11/03/2016 Posted by: Jessica Mairs Comments: 0

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced 32 winners of its annual architecture awards, including an observation point made from shipping containers at a Tasmanian winery and a packing shed converted into a contemporary art gallery.

The winners of the 2016 National Architecture Awards were revealed at a ceremony in Sydney today. The 32 winning projects were whittled down from almost 900 entries to this year’s awards.

Set up by the AIA in 1981 to recognise “architectural practice at its peak”, the awards are given to projects under 15 categories, ranging from residential to commercial, and education to heritage restoration.

Some projects – like Cox Rayner Architects’ anxiety-reducing dental clinic in Queensland – have received multiple recognitions.

This year’s recipient of the AIA Gold Medal, ARM Architecture, was also recognised in the public architecture, interiors and education categories for its Geelong Library and Heritage Centre – a “vibrant and energised vertical village” in the words of the jury.

The winners were selected by a jury chaired by Jon Clements of Jackson Clements Burrows – a past president of the AIA –  Rodney Eggleston of March Studio, Abbie Galvin of BVN, Stuart Vokes of Vokes and Peters and presenter Fenella Kernebone of TedxSydney.

“Throughout the judging it was evident that architects had clear commitments to their clients’ aspirations but also to environmental and social sustainability: creating solutions that explored invention in favour of fashion,” said Clements. “It was an inspiring and refreshing experience,”

Alongside the 32 awards, the jury also presented 12 commendations, which are split across the 15 categories.

See the full list of winners from the AIA National Awards:

Commercial Architecture

>The Harry Seidler Award – AHL Headquarters, 478 George Street by Candalepas Associates
>National Award – 5 Martin Place by JPW and TKD
>National Commendation – Alex Hotel by Spaceagency Architects
>National Commendation – Cape York Partnership Offices by Kevin O’Brien Architects
>National Commendation – Devil’s Corner by Cumulus Studio
>National Commendation – Ormuz Specialist Eye Clinic by Loucas Zahos Architects

Educational Architecture

>The Daryl Jackson Award – University of Queensland Oral Health Centre by Cox Rayner
Architects with Hames Sharley and Conrad Gargett Riddel
>National Award – The Mandeville Centre, Loreto Toorak by Architectus
>National Commendation – Geelong Grammar School, School of Performing Arts & Creative Education by Peter Elliott Architecture + Urban Design
>National Commendation – UNSW Materials Science & Engineering Building by Grimshaw

Enduring Architecture

>National Award – Perth Concert Hall by Howlett and Bailey Architects


>The Lachlan Macquarie Award – The State Buildings by Kerry Hill Architects and Palassis Architects
>National Award – 5 Martin Place by JPW & TKD architects
>National Commendation – Bayside Fire Station by Owen Architecture

Interior Architecture

>The Emil Sodersten Award – Canberra Airport Hotel by Bates Smart
>National Award – University of Queensland Oral Health Centre by Cox Rayner Architects with Hames Sharley and Conrad Gargett Riddel
>National Commendation – Geelong Library & Heritage Centre by ARM Architecture

International Architecture

>The Jørn Utzon Award – Australian Pavilion, Venice by Denton Corker Marshall
>Australian Award – National Gallery Singapore by StudioMilou with CPG Consultants

Public Architecture

>The Sir Zelman Cowen Award – Geelong Library & Heritage Centre by ARM Architecture
>National Award – St Andrews House by Candalepas Associates
>National Award – The Condensery Somerset Regional Art Gallery by PHAB Architects
>National Commendation – City of Perth Library and Public Plaza by Kerry Hill Architects
>National Commendation – Kempsey Crescent Head Surf Life Saving Club by Neeson Murcutt Architects Pty Ltd

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions)

>The Eleanor Cullis-Hill Award – Jenny’s House by Rosevear Stephenson
>National Award – Darlinghurst Rooftop by CO-AP
>National Award – Mills, The Toy Management House by Austin Maynard Architects

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

>The Robin Boyd Award – Indigo Slam by Smart Design Studio
>National Award – Deepdene House by Kennedy Nolan
>National Award – Point Lonsdale House by NMBW Architecture Studio
>National Award – Rosalie House by Owen Architecture
>National Commendation – House in Hamilton by Phorm Architecture + Design with Tato Architects

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

>The Frederick Romberg Award – Knutsford/Stage 1 by Spaceagency Architects
>National Award – 10 Wylde Street by SJB
>National Award – Monash University Logan Hall by McBride Charles Ryan

Small Project Architecture

>The Nicholas Murcutt Award – Maidstone Tennis Pavilion by Searle x Waldron Architecture
>National Award – Bath House by Stephen de Jersey Architect

Sustainable Architecture

>The David Oppenheim Award – Tonsley Main Assembly Building and Pods by Woods Bagot and Tridente Architects
>National Award – Northern Beaches Christian School by WMK Architecture
>National Award – University of Queensland Oral Health Centre by Cox Rayner Architects with Hames Sharley and Conrad Gargett Riddel
>National Commendation – Project Zero by BVN

Urban Design

>The Walter Burley Griffin Award – Bowen Place Crossing by Lahznimmo Architects
>National Award – Lennox Bridge Portals by Hill Thalis Architecture + Urban Projects

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

>The COLORBOND® Award – South Australia Drill Core Reference Library by Thomson Rossi

People’s Choice Award

>Winner – Deepwater by Tobias Partners

The post Winners of Australian National Architecture Awards revealed appeared first on Dezeen.